Categories

Common Topics

Find a Dentist
Community

Dental Insurance, In or Out of Network?

As a dentist in current times, the first question I'm asked when I meet someone out and about who learns that I'm a dentist is, "Do you take MetLife (insert your carrier here)?", "Are you in my plan?" The answer is never a quick yes or no, however, and it's important for patients with insurance to understand their coverage.

First of all, these days most people who have dental benefits/insurance have what is known as a PPO (preferred provider organization) which means the carrier has dentists who have signed contracts with the carrier agreeing to accept the fees outlined in the specific plan basically in exchange for referrals of patients. The term by no means implies that the dentists is the plan have special, better or different skills or credentials than any other dentist. They are simply "preferred" because they agreed to accept lower fees as a provider in that network.